5731194_orig

I am a HUGE fan of the drugstore, and I really believe that you can find quality products, that are similar, if not identical, to products you find in the department or specialty stores. Today, I want to focus in on the foundations. I have done a lot of legwork and tried a lot of different products over the years and I have compiled this list for you of the BEST and BRIGHTEST.

I want to start out by saying that I have oily combination skin (emphasis on the oily part more often than not) and these are the products that have worked really well for me lately. So, let’s dig right in, shall we?

ELF Studio Flawless Finish Foundation, $6

I love this foundation for my oily skin for one big reason – it stays on my skin! It lasts me all day and has a matte finish, which is perfect for someone like me with an oily T-zone. The only downside (which I can live with) is the smell of it when you first put it on. It has this smell that I cannot describe. All I can say is I don’t like it. HOWEVER, the smell goes away immediately after you put it on and I don’t smell it throughout the day. i still love this foundation, and that smell cannot keep me away. Plus, how can you go wrong with that price?! I get mine at Target, but it also available on ELF’s website. I am in the shade ivory.

CoverGirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation, $9.47

This foundation claims that it is a primer, concealer and foundation all in one. I must say that it does what it says. I love using this foundation and I feel like it makes my skin look flawless without looking like I’m caking on the makeup. I really don’t have anything negative to say about this foundation, it keeps my skin matte and has great staying power. Also, you really can’t beat the price too!  I will say that I found that it runs a little on the dark side, I wear the shade “Classic Ivory 810”, where typically I might wear a shade like beige or buff beige. So, just keep that in mind when picking your shade. All in all, I really love this foundation and I plan on repurchasing it over and over.

Revlon ColorStay Makeup, Oily/ Combination Skin, $9.98

This foundation has been a favorite of mine for a long time. I used to use the regular formula, but have recently switched to the Oily/Combination formula and I love it even more! It claims it stays for 24 hours, however, I don’t think I can back up that claim. It does last quite a while, I would say about 12 hours or so.  It looks very natural on the skin and allows your natural glow to shine through – not your “oil glow”. There are also quite a few color options, which run pretty true to what you would expect – so you should be able to find a great match for your skin. I wear the shade “Sand Beige”, which matches me perfectly.

L’Oreal Paris Magic Skin Beautifier BB Cream, $7.96

I am a fan of BB creams, especially for natural everyday looks. This is one of my favorite BB creams that I have tried so far. This cream starts out white and then once applied to the skin, begins to develop its shade. I really like the finish of this BB cream, and I think it is less oily than some of the other products that I’ve tried.  It really has that “no makeup” type of effect and looks really natural on the skin. This is definitely what I grab on the weekends, because it is so easy to apply, I just use my fingers, throw on a little blush and mascara and be good to go. It comes in 4 shades, the shade “Light” works for me. I plan on trying some other BB creams in the future, but right now this is my go to.


 

Honorable Mention: Revlon Photoready Airbrush Mousse Makeup, $10.97

The reason this is an honorable mention is because it doesn’t last long on my skin. I would strongly suggest using a primer and setting powder with this foundation to make it last longer. However, when I have it on, I really like the finish and I think it really makes your skin look beautiful. I have even received compliments on how my skin looks when wearing this foundation, so that is what got it on the list, but only as an honorable mention.

And there you have it! Those are my favorite drugstore foundations of the moment!

Did your favorite drugstore foundation make the list?

Valeria

 

